Posted on

Glenwood Mayor, Council Take Oaths in First Meeting of New Year

New Glenwood Council members and the city’s mayor were sworn in at the Council’s first meeting of 2024 on Tuesday, January 2. Mayor G.M. Joiner, elected to a new term in November 7 balloting, returned to his post after taking the oath of office. Joiner, who has held the post of mayor for the past 40 years unopposed until 2023, was challenged by Wheeler County School teacher Ava Bess Jones. Joiner won reelection by the slimmest of margins, two votes, which was affirmed in a recount at the Wheeler County Board of Elections office on the Monday following the election.

Also being sworn in were four incumbents and one new Council member who were the top five vote getters in the November 7 election. Returning for another four-year term are: Cynthia Kinchen, who was named Mayor Pro-Tem, Eric Pearce, Billy Thigpen, and Wesley Ray Yawn. Matthew Johnson, who won the seat previously held by Winston Powell, also took the oath of office. Powell did not seek reelection.

In other business the Council heard updates on ongoing projects to install digital water meters, extend water lines, and locate new fire hydrants within the city limits.

Recent Death Notices