Posted on

19 Qualify to Seek MoCo Commission, BOE Posts

The race is on for several seats on the Montgomery County Board of Commissioners and Board of Education, as 19 citizens put their names in the hat for the positions.

Representation for Districts 1, 2, and 3 are up for election on the Montgomery continued from page

County Commission. For District 1 representation, incumbent Commissioner Chad Kenney will not be seeking reelection. “I thank the citizens of Montgomery County and especially those in District 1 for giving me the opportunity to serve them as their County Commissioner. It has given me the opportunity to meet new people and help them with their problems as they arose. I am humbled by the people who have supported me and have reached out to me on my decision not to seek reelection for a third term,” he commented on the decision.

Kenney reminisced on the numerous accomplishments which he and his fellow commissioners had completed in the past 7 years, including improving the first responders’ radio systems, doubling the support to volunteer fire departments within the county, revitalizing the recreation department, repairing county buildings, renovating the Montgomery County Government Annex, doubling the size of the Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office, and more. He reflected on this service, citing Philippians 2:3-4, which reads, “Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.” as his inspiration to work for these causes.

“I appreciate each person who works for or serves our county on a board or in any other way. We have great people in our county, and I urge you to get involved with our county,” Kenney added. “Thank you and continue to pray for our county and leaders.”

In his place, newcomers Jimmy Pedro Sharpe (R) and Angel Gilreath (R) will face off for the position.

In District 2, incumbent County Commissioner Tim Williamson (R) will face off with Amie Alexandra Vassey (R) and Stephanie Love Ivy (D).

Incumbent Commissioner Ginger Byrd Morris (R) is hoping to continue to represent the citizens of District 3, as she is seeking reelection. Also pursuing the position is former Commissioner Charles Greg Palmer (R), Charles “Charlie” Robison (R), and Linda Jackson Page (D).

The Board of Education will host elections for Districts 1, 2, 3, and 4, as several individuals strive to earn the right to represent their areas. In District 1, incumbent Board member Henry Price will face off with Richard Michael Lewis, as incumbent Board member Susan Lillard Beard and newcomers Andrea “Margie” Miller and Inna N. Edwards are all seeking the District 2 seat on the Board.

In District 3, incumbent Board Member Fernando Rodriguez-Pacheco is opposed by Allen Williamson. Incumbent Board member Eugene “Pete” Ward will compete for votes against Janice Nobles and Jonathan “Spanky” Hardeman to represent District 4.

The County’s Tax Commissioner race is also contested, as longtime Tax Commissioner Loretta Lane (D) will face Renee Wooten-Perry (R) to continue the job.

Sheriff Doug Maybin will be hanging up his hat, as he did not seek reelection, but his son and current Montgomery County Sheriff’s Deputy Ben Maybin (R) qualified unopposed for the position.

Probate Judge Rubie Nell Sanders will also retire from her position after 20 years of service, but her clerk Stacie Randolph (R) will take over, as she qualified unopposed for the upcoming election. “It has been a pleasure and an honor to be able to serve the people of Montgomery County,” Sanders commented. “My time in office has allowed me to meet many wonderful people, and to create memories and friendships that I will treasure forever. Thank you to the citizens for giving me this opportunity.”

Montgomery County Clerk of Superior Court Tammy C. Foskey (R) and Coroner Laurie Sharpe Holland (R) will continue their roles in the county, as they also qualified unopposed for their respective races.

The Board of Education seats and primary party elections will first occur during the Primary Election on Tuesday, May 21, with any potential runoff elections to be held on Tuesday, June 18. The General Election will be held on Tuesday, November 5.

Recent Death Notices