Posted on

continued from page volvement. In ….

continued from page

volvement. In order to qualify, all schools within the district must offer National Beta and induct qualifying students in all eligible grades (4th-12th) within each school. These districts are nominated online and determined each year.

Neither local district is a stranger to this award, as Montgomery County Schools has been a District of Distinction for the past four years, while Toombs County Schools has earned the honor for the past three years.

Superintendents of both school systems spoke on the accomplishment. “We are excited to receive the honor of National District of Distinction for the third consecutive year. Our vision for the Toombs County School System is ‘Excellence for All’ and this affirms the commitment our staff makes to offering Beta honors programs, along with many other accelerated and service opportunities, for our students to learn the importance of service in both our schools and our community,” Toombs County Schools Superintendent Barry Waller remarked.

Montgomery County Schools Superintendent Stan Rentz stated, “I am proud of our Beta students and advisors. Their commitment to academic excellence is exemplary. Our Beta Club students are outstanding ambassadors for Montgomery County Schools.”

In addition to these two school systems, seven other districts earned this National Beta title: Bleckley County Schools, Dodge County Schools, Jeff Davis County Schools, Jefferson County Schools, Miller County Schools, Pierce County Schools, Twiggs County Schools. This makes Georgia the state with the most Districts of Distinction in the nation.

Recent Death Notices