Posted on

Area Senate, House Seats

On the Mid-Term Ballot

Voters will choose a new state legislature and all the state’s top executives in Georgia’s 2022 mid-term elections on November 8. Georgia’s 14 U.S. congressional seats and one of two U.S. Senate seats are also up for election.

(See a roster of who is running and questions that are on the ballot inside today’s edition of The Advance).

Area ballots for the November 8 General Election will include two races of particular local interest. Vidalia attorney Blake Tillery is seeking reelection to his District 19 Senate post and businesswoman Leesa Hagan of Lyons is vying to win reelection to her District 156 seat. Both are Republicans.

Tillery is being challenged by Michael “Buckle” Moore, a Democrat, from Douglas, and Hagan is being challenged by Lethia Kittrell, a Democrat, of Fitzgerald. All four candidates were asked to complete a candidate questionnaire that follows this article. Moore did not respond.

No local offices are in contention in Wheeler County, however two unopposed county commission candidates will be listed on the Montgomery County ballot: Clarence Thomas, District 4, and Leland Adams, District 5. Two unopposed county commission candidates will be listed on the Toombs County ballot: Alfred Cason, District 1, and Tommy Rollins, District 4.

continued from page

Advance Voting

Advance voting in the November 8 General Election begins October 17, and continues through November 4. Voters must visit the registrar’s offices in their respective counties to complete advance voting Monday through Friday, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday voting will be held on October 22 and October 29 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. The last day to request an absentee ballot will be October 28.

Polling Places Toombs County

New Branch New Branch United Methodist Church 5174 Ga. Highway 178 Cedar Crossing Uvalda Community Center 2926 Cedar Crossing Road Vidalia Police Department New Municipal Annex 302 E. 1st St. STC Adult Literacy Building 100 Brinson St. Lyons/Partin Park 168 Miot Rd. Montgomery County

Mount Vernon Adult Literacy Center 251 Richardson St. Ailey Old Rosenwald School N Pine St. Alston City Hall 5177 GA Hwy 135 Higgston City Hall 310 James St.

Kibbee Fire Station 3800 Thompson Pond Rd. Tarrytown Fire Station 407 W Fourth St. Uvalda 830 W Main St.

Wheeler County

Alamo Community Center 16 W. Forest Avenue Glenwood Civic Center 96 NW 3rd St. Visit your county’s website for polling districts maps.

Recent Death Notices