Posted on

Mayor NeSmith Names Committees

[email protected]

Lyons Mayor Willis NeSmith officially named the standing committees of the City Council at the regular monthly meeting on February 1. NeSmith appointed Council Members Rick Hartley, John Moore Jr., and Cathy Benton to the Finance Committee, of which he is the chairman. He appointed Benton and Councilman Tracy Johnson to the Public Safety Committee, which deals with the Police Department, Animal Control, and Fire Department.

The Policy, Ordinance, and Rules Committee is chaired by Nesmith, as Hartley and Johnson are members. NeSmith also chairs the Blighted Property Committee, which deals with Housing and Human Welfare, on which he serves with Benton. Mayor Pro Tem Ivy Toole chairs the Public Utilities Committee, which focuses on the public works department for water, sewer, street, and sanitation concerns. Council members Moore and Johnson assist him in this committee work.

Toole serves as the Council’s liaison to the Lyons Recreation Board, just as Benton is the Council’s liaison to the Lyons Main Street Association.

Transfer of Property The Council unanimously approved to transfer property from the Toombs County Board of Education to city property. This property, which was formerly Toombs County Schools’ alternative school and bus shop, is located on Collins Road. This transaction only costs $10 for consideration fees, as long as the City devotes the area to recreation.

The next City Council Meeting will be held on March 1.

Recent Death Notices