Posted on

3 Qualify in Toombs County Sheriff’s Race

With the announcement of current Toombs County Sheriff Alvie “Junior” Kight’s retirement, the race for the position has swept the county, as three current law enforcement officials have put their names in the hat to serve the citizens.

continued from page

In August 2023, Sheriff Kight penned a letter to the citizens of Toombs County, announcing that he would be retiring after 25 years of service at the end of his term. “For 25 years, it has been the greatest honor of my life to serve as the Sheriff of Toombs County. It is with a bittersweet heart that I am announcing that I will not be running for re-election in 2024,” he shared. “I believe it is time for the people of Toombs County to choose the next sheriff and pray that you will select someone who loves this county as much as I do. Though I will miss this job and the people that I work with, my wife, Patty, and I look forward to this next phase of our lives.”

During qualifying last week, Toombs County Sheriff’s Office Captain Jordan Kight (R), Sergeant Rodney Wardlaw (I), and Lyons Police Chief Wesley Walker (R) all announced they are seeking election for the position.

Each shared a comment on their decision to run. “I love the people of Toombs County and want to continue serving them. It has been an honor to be a part of this Sheriff’s Office and learn from the best Sheriff in the state,” Jordan Kight stated. “I will be relentless in my efforts to keep Toombs County safe. I am proud of the agency that my father helped build and hope to continue building on his legacy. The safety of the citizens of Toombs County is my highest priority. I look forward to hitting the campaign trail and asking for your vote and support.” “Serving and protecting the citizens of Toombs County has been a passion of mine for over a decade,” Rodney Wardlaw emphasized. “Having grown up here, I have a strong love and respect for the area and its people, and I hope to be able to continue to give back to the community by serving as the Toombs County Sheriff. To me, It’s more than a job — sure it’s a commitment to keeping our communities safe; of course, it’s a push for peace. But more than that, it’s an office that the people can respect because of the dignity that I will possess. It is a position that our citizens can trust because of the transparency that I will always share. It is a service that everyone will experience because of my willingness to be open, understanding, and fair to all people — the citizens and the employees.”

“As your Sheriff, my focus will be on not just enforcing the law but being a proactive member of our community. I aim to build stronger relationships between the Sheriff’s Office and the people we serve, ensuring that Toombs County remains a safe, secure, and nurturing environment for all families. Together, we can create a legacy of safety and respect that will last for generations,” remarked Wesley Walker.

In addition to this, the races for the Toombs County Tax Commissioner, District 3 Commissioner, and Coroner are also opposed. Incumbent Tax Commissioner Brenda Williams is not seeking reelection. In her absence, Jeandra Johnson and Anna Wommack Holcombe will face off for the position.

In the race to represent District 3 as a Toombs County commissioner, incumbent Commissioner Darriel Nobles will face off with newcomer Daniel Caraway. Meanwhile, the local funeral home directors Ronald V. Hall (incumbent) and Kyle Wilkes will compete to be the county’s coroner.

Current District 2 Commissioner Wendell Dixon announced last week that he would not be seeking reelection. “I’ve been on the Commission for 12 years, and before that I spent 10 years serving on the Toombs County Development Authority. That makes 22 years with the County – 22 years is a long time, and I’m not getting any younger,” he commented. “I just feel like we need some younger minds on the Commission. I feel like we have done everything I wanted to do.”

In Dixon’s absence, local businessman Buck Moon has qualified unopposed for the position.

Several incumbent officials also qualified unopposed for reelection. These officials include Clerk of Superior Court Nancy Pittman, Commission Chairman David Sikes, Probate Judge Tina S. Lindsey, District 2 Board of Education member Trent Akins, District 4 Board of Education member Michael Grimes, District 6 Board of Education member Josh Dixon, State Court Solicitor Thomas Alexander Peterson IV, and State Court Judge Paul K. Cook.

Decisions on these races, with the exception of the Sheriff’s race, will be made during the General Primary/Nonpartisan Election on Tuesday, May 21.

Recent Death Notices