Posted on

VHS Holds Hall of Fame Ceremony

VHS Holds Hall of Fame Ceremony VHS Holds Hall of Fame Ceremony

Courtesy of VHS

It was a special night at Vidalia High School on Saturday, December 16, as the class of the 2023 VHS Athletic Hall of Fame were inducted. This was the second annual ceremony for the VHS Hall of Fame. Fifteen individuals and two teams were honored at the ceremony at the VHS Theater.

Individuals going into the VHS Hall of Fame were: Hibby Bedingfield 1967, Wayne Brantley 1962, Ronnie Dixon 1960, Wendell Dixon 1970, Anthony Forrest 1983, Nancy Hansley 1973, Sonny Hendrix 1965, Lin Hodges 1970, Mike Johnston 1973, Mike Mc-Names 1958, Kelly Pittman 1988, Jill Poole 1987, Tommy Sasser 1970, and Johnny Taylor 1978. The Legacy Award was given to Ed Smith.

The two teams that were inducted into the Hall of Fame were the 1967-68 J.D. Dickerson Girls Basketball team and the 1972-73 VHS Boys State Champion Golf Teams.

Former VHS Principal and Hall of Fame Committee Member John Sharpe said, “It was a great night for the community and for Vidalia High School Athletics. What a talented group of individuals with such class, humility and such an appreciation for the community. We want to preserve our history and to show the great legacy and to hopefully encourage the students that are coming behind them to continue to rise to the standard set by those that came before them. This could not have been done without the committee and the volunteers. We are proud, and it was a special night.”

Hall of Fame Inductees – (L to R, Front): Kelly Pittman, Jill Poole, Tommy Sasser, Sonny Hendrix, Wayne Brantley,and Ed Smith; (Back): Anthony Forrest, Johnny Taylor, Nancy Hansley, Mike McNames, Wendell Dixon, Lin Hodges, Ronnie Dixon Jr., and Mike Johnston.

Photo by Pop-Pop's Photos

Recent Death Notices